Ignition Interlock Device: What Is It and Who Has to Have It?
Jan. 22, 2017
The ignition interlock device, or IID, is a breath alcohol measuring device that is connected to the ignition system in your car. If you are convicted of certain DUI offenses in Florida, you will be required to have one installed in your vehicle in order to secure a hardship or business purpose license from the Florida DMV. You will have to blow into the IID in order to start the car, and will have to pull over periodically during your travel in order to deliver additional samples. If the interlock device detects alcohol in your body, it will prevent your car from starting, or if you're already in motion, it will warn you to pull over, usually by blowing your horn and flashing your lights until you do. If that happens, the device will make you wait a while before it resets and allows you to continue driving.
The interlock device gathers breath alcohol analysis data which is either transmitted wirelessly to the DMV or downloaded and transmitted to DMV once per month. If the data reveals positive alcohol results, Florida DMV can, and likely will, revoke your hardship permit.
Florida DUI law requires the installation of the Ignition Interlock Device for six months if you are convicted of a first offense DUI and either had a breath or blood alcohol level of a .15 or higher, or drove impaired with a minor in your vehicle, one year if you are convicted of a second offense, two years if you are convicted of a third DUI within ten years of any prior DUI conviction, and at least five years if you are convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI offense.
You get to pay for this too. The initial installation, which must be done before you can get your permit, costs anywhere between $75 and $150 dollars, and the monthly fee runs about $75.00.
If you or someone you know has been arrested for DUI in Florida, contact Florida DUI Lawyer Lloyd H. Golburgh for more information. You'll be glad you did.